Welcome to the International Co-operative Agricultural Organisation

  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • nh
Executive Committee
Tarun Bhargava (Asia)
Mr. Tarun Bhargava, the Deputy General Manager in charge of the Sustainable Cooperative Development team at the Indian Farmers Fertilizer Cooperative, was made Executive Member of ICAO at the general meeting in fall of 2015.

His portfolio involves working with approximately 36,000 member cooperative societies in the agricultural sector in India.

Mr. Bhargava graduated from BITS Pilani as a chemical engineer and spent much of his career manufacturing phosphatic and nitrogenous fertilizers as well as contributing to the development of IT based business solutions for cooperative development.

Mr. Bhargava works extensively with the international community to contribute to building stronger agricultural cooperatives.
Cafer Yüksel (Europe)
Mr. Cafer Yüksel, the president of the National Union of Turkish Forestry Cooperatives (OR-KOOP), was first made an Executive Committee Member in 2009.
Mr. Yüksel's cooperative career began in the 1970s, in the villages and communities where he worked as a teacher. There he founded several cooperatives. In 1978, he became the founding president of the OR-KOOP Regional Union in Sinop, a city on the Turkish coast of the Black Sea. He resigned from teaching that same year in order to dedicate his time to the cooperative movement, and in 1997, he founded and became the president of the OR-KOOP Central Union. OR-KOOP's current membership is comprised of 27 regional unions, 2,500 primary cooperatives and 300,000 partners. In addition to serving as that organization's president, Mr. Yüksel is the Vice-President of the National Cooperative Union of Turkey, the apex organization for Turkish cooperatives and a fellow member of the International Co-operative Alliance.
Alfred Domagalski (Europe)
Mr. Alfred Domagalski, the president of the National Co-operative Council in Poland, was made an Executive Committee Member in 2009.

He has been a co-operator since his school years, active in various types of coops: students', banking, farmers' and workers' co-operatives. Born in 1945 in Domaszowice, a small village in the Kielce region of Central Poland, he is a farmer by background and an agricultural economist by education. As the leader of a rural youth organization, he promoted cooperative activities among young people, and during his time in the Union of Farmers' Circles, he supported the development of agricultural services coops. In the 80s and 90s, as the owner of a horticultural farm, he was the leader of a horticultural marketing and supply coop. He is currently a member of his local cooperative bank's Supervisory Council. Since 1995 he has held leading positions in the Polish cooperative movement – he was chairman of the General Assembly of the National Co-operative Council (NCC), the apex organization for co-operatives in Poland and, in 2004, he was made president of the board; he is currently serving his 3rd successive term as such.

Mr. Domagalski is active on the international level as well. He represents NCC in the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) as well as Polish agricultural cooperatives in ICAO (at present on its Executive Committee) and cooperates with COPA-COGECA. He was among the founders of Cooperatives Europe; in 2006, he was elected to its board of directors, reelected in 2010 and again in 2013. He is also a member of the board of directors of "Cooperative House Europe" in Brussels. He has participated in many national and international initiatives concerning the co-operative movement, agriculture, social economy, co-operative legislation and published several books and papers on these issues.

Mr. Domagalski is also an active politician. As one of the leaders of the Polish Peasants' Party, he was a member of Parliament from 1993 to 1997. During that time, he chaired the Extraordinary Parliamentary Commission for Cooperative Legislation, which prepared, under his leadership, the draft of a new Polish Cooperative law. Since 2000 he has been the deputy chairman of the supreme council of his party.